WasteServ Malta - Batterina

The battery collection is now being coordinated by Green Pak's initiative 'Batree'


Battery Buster Campaign

The Battery Buster campaign, better known as Batterina after our super-hero mascot, is a popular school campaign which has now completed its 8th edition.

The 8th Battery Buster campaign was open to all kindergarten, primary, secondary and post-secondary schools. As in previous years, the competition took the form of an inter-school battery collection competition with a prize for the school which collects the most batteries per capita. A random lottery draw also gives the chance to some lucky participating students to win fantastic iPod prizes.

Spent batteries submitted for the campaign are collected by Wasteserv and then sorted by type (for example button cells, batteries with lead, with alkaline and zinc-carbon, nickel-cadmium, lithium and other types). These batteries are then stored responsibly until they are exported for eventual recycling overseas.

Roughly 3 million batteries are disposed of each year in the Maltese islands so this competition aims to reduce those entering landfill and instead encourage proper disposal. For more information visit www.batterina.net or contact our Customer Care team on freephone 80072200.



Campaign Results

Congratulations to St Francis School Xaghra, Gozo - winning school of the 8th edition of the Battery Buster Campaign! This school collected an average of 4.11kgs of spent batteries per capita. To view all school results click here.


The following 12 lucky students were drawn at random from all participating schools, winning fantastic prizes sponsored by V.J Salomone Marketing Ltd, official distributors of Duracell:


1st prize (iPod Touch):


Shanaia Desira , St. Thomas More College, Middle School


2nd prize (iPod Nano):


Francesca Agius, St. Monica School, Birkirkara



3rd to 12th prize (iPod Shuffle):


Luigi De Battista, St. Francs School, Victoria Gozo.


Lucas Portelli, Gozo College Qala Primary School

Michael Xuereb, Gozo College San Lawrenz Primary School

Paul Agius, The Archbishop Seminary, Rabat, Malta.

Kayla Jade Vella, St. Francis School, Gozo.

Charlton Caruana, Gozo College Gharb Primary School

Shanesia Azzopardi, St Ignatius College Zebbug Primary School.

Elisa Lorraine Cutajar, St. Monica School, B'Kara.

Carla Hili, St. Monica School, B'Kara.

Marija Micallef, St. Thomas More College, Middle School.