WasteServ Malta - Past Award Nominees
Euro Week for Waste Reducation - Past Award Nomine

Each year, the best participants of the European Week for Waste Reduction are nominated as contenders for the European Waste Reduction Awards. One participant from each category is selected to represent Malta in this EU-wide competition.

Although competition is tough, with hundreds of participants from all over Europe, Malta did manage to win an award back in 2010 thanks to Elisa Andretti's winning website idea and in 2013 Malta came close to winning another award thanks to Joanne Scicluna's fund-raising upcycling initiative 'Createhope'. Scroll down to learn more about these initiatives!

In order to give local initiatives a better chance of gaining recognition for their efforts, in the past years WasteServ has also supported and organised awards on a local level.

Nominees for the European Waste Reduction Awards 2013
& winners of the local Waste Reduction Awards

Administration/ Public Authority Category - Sliema Local Council

Educational Establishment Category - St. Ignatius College Girls Secondary

Association Category - Home Economists in Action

Business Category - Malta Freeport Terminals Ltd 

Other Category (Citizens) - Joanne Scicluna, Createhope

Nominees for the European Waste Reduction Awards 2012

Administration/ Public Authority Category - WasteServ Malta Ltd

Educational Establishment Category - St. Francis School Cospicua

Association Category - EkoSkola (run by Nature Trust) 

Nominees for the European Waste Reduction Awards 2011

Administration/ Public Authority Category - WasteServ Malta Ltd


Business / Industry Category - Le Meridien St. Julians Hotel & Spa

Educational Establishment Category - St. Clare College Girls’ Secondary School

Association / NGO Category - EkoSkola (run by Nature Trust)

Other Category - Gozo Mosaic

Nominees for the European Waste Reduction Awards 2010

Administration/ Public Authority - Ministry Green Leaders

Business/ Industry - XFM 100.2

Association/ NGO - Greenhouse

Educational Establishment Category - St. Clare College Girls’ Secondary School

Other Category - Elisa Andretti (WINNER)